Friends’ Rhodes Scholars

The Friends’ School is proud that 16 Friends’ Alumni have been awarded Rhodes Scholarships.

The Rhodes Scholarship is an international postgraduate award for students to study at the University of Oxford. It was established in 1902, making it the first large-scale programme of international scholarship.

The Rhodes Scholarship was founded by English businessman and politician Cecil John Rhodes, to promote unity between English-speaking nations and instil a sense of civic-minded leadership and moral fortitude in future leaders irrespective of their chosen career paths.

2020 Oliver Gales (pictured above)

Oliver has been studying Agricultural Sciences at the University of Tasmania and was named as the Tasmanian Rhodes Scholar for 2020. Oliver will travel to Oxford University to do a masters in development studies, investigating policy and governance in developing countries.

Oliver is looking forward to the Oxford ‘learning and life opportunity’; “To study at the University of Oxford allows unequivocal access to platforms and networks of a globalised education. Oxford is globally leading the approach of environmental change and international sustainable development studies. To be able to study and learn at an academic institution that has been globally leading the way for centuries is a once in a lifetime opportunity.”

2022 Samantha Climie
Sam graduated in 2015 in the TCE Pathway. She is remembered for her strong commitment to, and passion for community service, achieving a ‘Full Colours’ award for service to the community in 2015. She was an avid Waterpolo player and coached junior teams at the School. Sam is perhaps best remembered for her love of the outdoors and natural environment.
Read about what being a Rhodes Scholar means to her, as well as what she’s up to next year, in the article here.

You can find Sam’s LinkedIn profile here.

2013 Benjamin Hunn

Ben graduated from UTAS with a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, after completing a Bachelor of Medical Science with First Class Honours. He has worked with the Menzies Research Institute of Tasmania, investigating aspects of Alzheimer’s, and has been studying at Oxford University undertaking a doctoral project on the inter-relationship between Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.

You can find Ben’s LinkedIn profile here and some of his work here.

2012 Edward Dodderidge

Edward is currently undertaking a Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Oceanography at the University of Oxford. His work is focused on using analytical and numerical models to further our understanding of complex physical phenomena in the world’s oceans. In particular, he is looking at the way in which global circulation adjusts to changing climate conditions.

You can find Edward’s Blog here.

2007 Rowan Trebilco

Rowan is a Marine Ecologist and completed his PhD at Simon Fraser University in July 2014. Rowan’s love of marine studies has been matched by his love of water sports. He is a scuba diver and white water rafter and has represented Tasmania and Australia in underwater hockey. On land he bushwalks and cycles.

You can find Rowan’s LinkedIn profile here and his blog can be found here.

2005 Edward (Ted) Alexander

Ted holds an M.Phil in Economics from Oxford University and previously worked as a Market Analyst with the Reserve Bank of Australia. Ted undertakes global research on the technology and telecoms sector.

You can find Ted’s LinkedIn profile here.

2003 Jessica Trebilco

After completing her Honours in Zoology in 2003 at UTAS, Jessica was awarded the Rhodes Scholarship to undertake her PhD at Oxford University. Her PhD research focused on changes in coral growth in response to the environment.

1972 Michael Stokes
1951 David Brink
1946 Charles Miller
1924 Archibald McDougall
1918 Henry Kingsmill
1917 Alan Field Payne
1914 Eric Arthur Woods
1910 Thornton Rockliff
1908 Alfred Wallis Clemes