The Friends' School

Our School

A crowd of students sitting on the ground watching a three person school band play.The Friends’ School is coeducational from pre-kindergarten through to Year 12. It is the only Quaker school in Australia and the largest Quaker School in the world.

Three distinct campuses are linked by faculty structures, shared facilities and, of course, shared values.

The Commercial Road Campus includes High School Years 7 to 10 and the majority of the School’s Administration functions including Archives, Friends Health & Fitness, and the Friends’ School Shop.

The Argyle Street Campus includes Morris, Friends’ Primary Years (K–6), Clemes (Years 11 and 12), Walker House student residence and Friends’ Early Years child care centre. The Quaker Meeting House stands on its own land within the Argyle Street campus of the School.

Morris (Friends’ Primary Years), the High School and Clemes (Years 11 and 12) operate as semi-autonomous schools with their own Head/s and senior staff. Each has an administration office and its own timetable. Teaching staff move from campus to campus depending on the requirement for their specialist teaching area and can teach in all three schools in the one day.

To maintain a whole-of-School approach to teaching there are eight faculties matching the eight learning areas:

Health and Personal Development

Each Head of Faculty is responsible for the delivery of their subject area from K–12, supported by senior staff in each part of the School and the Director of Teaching and Learning.

This approach ensures continuity in each subject area throughout a student’s time at Friends’.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email