The Friends' School

Morris Information 07.07.2017

Parent Teacher Discussions – Term 3
Parent Teacher discussions will be held in Weeks 2 and 3 of Term 3. This is an opportunity for you to discuss your child’s learning and continuing growth. An email to book appointments was sent to families. If you have any queries about booking your appointment please contact the Morris Office on 6210 2228.

Premier’s Reading Challenge – through to 18 August
To promote the pleasure and importance of reading, we are once again participating in The Premier’s Reading Challenge (PRC) and are encouraging all Prep – Year 6 students to read 10 books in 10 weeks – from now until Friday 18 August. Information about the PRC can be found on their website. The PRC is not a competition, but a challenge for children to read more, read more widely and reflect on what they have read. Students who would easily read 10 books in 10 weeks are encouraged to challenge themselves in different ways (eg include some books that are more difficult for them, and try authors and genres they have not read before). Ultimately, it is about quality not quantity. Detailed information has been emailed to families this week.

Y6 Exhibition, meeting for parents – rescheduled to 25 July
Due to a staff meeting change, our Exhibition meeting for parents will now occur on Tuesday 25 July, 5.15pm to 6.00pm in the Year 6 area.

Term 3 commences Tuesday 25 July
We look forward to welcoming students back in Term 3 on Tuesday 25 July when families are invited to join us at Morris Assembly at 9.00am.

Kindergarten Excursion to Mount Nelson Sustainability Centre – 31 July
As part of their inquiry into Sharing the Planet, Kindergarten will be visiting the Mount Nelson Sustainability Centre on Monday 31 July. The Honeyeaters will leave Kindergarten at 9.30am and return at 12.30pm. The Rosellas will leave Kindergarten at 11.30am and return at 2.00pm.  Please send children with gumboots and a warm raincoat as we will be outside in the elements. Families are welcome to meet the groups at Mount Nelson.

Important Dates
Term 3 Tuesday 25 July to Friday 29 September
Monday 14 August – Parents & Friends’ Association meeting
Tuesday 22 August – Book Week Assembly
Friday 1 September – Fathers’ Day Breakfast
Tuesday 26 – Thursday 28 September – Year 6 Exhibition
Term 4 Monday 16 October to Thursday 14 December
Monday 23 October – Athletics Carnival Years 3-6
Wednesday 25 October – Grandparents & Older Friends Day
Monday 30 October – Parents & Friends’ Association meeting
Thursday 26 – Friday 27 October – Show Day holidays
Thursday 23 – Friday 24 November – Year 4 Camp
Thursday 30 November – Friday 1 December – Year 6 Camp
Friday 1 December – K-2 Sports Day
Monday 4 December – Moving On Day
Wednesday 13 December – Year 6 Assembly

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Print Friendly, PDF & Email