The Friends' School

Morris Information 07.04.2017

Year 6 Excursion – Soldiers’ Memorial Avenue and the Cenotaph – 11 April
On Tuesday 11 April, Year 6 teachers and students will walk to Soldiers’ Memorial Avenue at the Domain, then on to the Cenotaph, leaving school at 11.00am and returning by 3.00pm. Soldiers’ Memorial Avenue is an Avenue of Honour comprising 520 trees planted in 1918 and 1919 to commemorate soldiers, mainly from Hobart, who died in World War I. The students are invited to wear sports clothes and will need to bring lunch, a snack, drink bottle and hat in a small backpack. Students are asked to bring along any family names of Australian ex-service men who fought and died in the First and/or Second World Wars. We will research these family members at school prior to our visit to the Australian War Memorial in Canberra.

Year 6 Excursion to State Parliament – 2 May (Term 2)
On Tuesday 2 May, we will visit State Parliament as a part of our How we organise ourselves inquiry. It will provide students with an insight into the workings of government at state level before visiting the Federal Parliament House in Canberra the following week. We will be having lunch at Salamanca prior to returning to school. Students are welcome to bring their own lunch or a maximum of $10.00 to purchase lunch in Salamanca Square.

Year 6 Canberra Trip – 8 May to 12 May
This year the Canberra Trip takes place from Monday 8 May to Friday 12 May. The Canberra Trip is an integral part of the Year 6 PYP Program. It extends activities from the first PYP Unit of Inquiry “The Formation of a Country is the Result of Many Influences and Events”, visiting The Australian War Memorial, National Archives, SIEV X Memorial, National Gallery, AIS, Royal Australian Mint and the National Library. It is also a central activity to the second PYP Unit of Inquiry “Countries Have a System of Government”, visiting Parliament House, the High Court of Australia and the National Electoral Education Office. The trip is a wonderful way to foster positive relationships and cooperative skills within the Year 6 group, as well as developing responsibility and independence in all students.

Music Ensembles and Rehearsals
All rehearsals will take place as usual in the last week of Term 1 and the first week of Term 2.
Prep Excursion to Soundy Park
Next Wednesday 12 April Prep will be walking down to Soundy Park at 12pm and coming back by bus at 2.30pm. We will have a picnic in the park, an Easter Egg hunt and finish the term playing with our friends. We welcome parents to join us both at the park and to accompany us on the walk down to the park if you are able to. Students are invited to bring along a small plate of food to share for the picnic and some examples may include fruit platters, sandwiches, hot cross buns or cupcakes. We look forward to an enjoyable last day of term.

Important Dates
Term 2 Monday 1 May to Friday 7 July
Monday 8 – Friday 12 May – Year 6 Canberra Trip
Wednesday 17 May – Cross Country Carnival
Tuesday 23 May – Parents & Friends’ Association meeting
Monday 12 June – Queen’s Birthday holiday
Term 3 Tuesday 25 July to Friday 29 September
Monday 14 August – Parents & Friends’ Association meeting
Tuesday 22 August – Book Week Assembly
Tuesday 26 – Thursday 28 September – Year 6 Exhibition
Term 4 Monday 16 October to Thursday 14 December
Monday 23 October – Athletics Carnival Years 3-6
Wednesday 25 October – Grandparents & Older Friends Day
Monday 30 October – Parents & Friends’ Association meeting
Thursday 26 – Friday 27 October – Show Day holidays
Thursday 23 – Friday 24 November – Year 4 Camp
Thursday 30 November – Friday 1 December – Year 6 Camp
Friday 1 December – K-2 Sports Day
Monday 4 December – Moving On Day
Wednesday 13 December – Year 6 Assembly

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Print Friendly, PDF & Email